11 July 2017
Snapmaps – a new dangerous feature that has been added
Snap maps enable a user to share their locations with each other so you can see where they are and what’s going on around them.
As this new feature shows your precise location pinpoint on a map – we would encourage users not to share their location, especially with people they don’t know in person.
There are three location settings your child can choose from:
- Ghost Mode: you are the only person who can see your location on the map.
- My Friends: means that all of your contacts on Snapchat can see your location.
- Select Friends: allows users to look through their friend list and decide which of their friends they want to be able to view their location.
Remind your child to use Snapchat sensibly and to only share their location with people they know in person, never with a stranger. This could be a very dangerous feature if used incorrectly.
Please don’t hesitate to contact us if you have any questions or need some advice.