Bishop Rawstorne Church of England Academy

Faculty of Science

Science Faculty Staff

Head of Faculty: Mrs. L. Petts
Second in Faculty: Mrs. A. Holden
Staff: Dr W. Aston
  Miss S. Beesley
  Mr A. Cook-Allison
  Mrs V. McShane
  Miss H. Mercer
  Mr B. Needham
  Mr D. Tye
  Mr B. Willis
Lab Technicians: Mrs E. Speakman
  Mrs W. Gibbons


The science department's vision is to engage young people in science and develop scientists of the future. To create a stimulating and exciting learning environment where the teaching is both challenging and supportive. To empower students to learn independently and achieve to the very best of their ability. We wish to offer the highest standards including quality resources and a safe, comfortable environment.

Our Science Faculty is one of the largest in school offering a total of five GCSEs in science subjects. We have a very qualified team of teachers from every specialism.


The science department aims to educate our students to become citizens of a scientific world and perhaps inspire some to become future scientists and engineers. We hope to motivate students to consider the social, cultural and moral issues related to science. We aim to teach them to use scientific knowledge and understanding with confidence and accuracy.

Contact the Head of Department, Mrs. L. Petts, for any further information.